• CL is simpler, I swear

    CL players trying to do something clever that the codes of CL would make a disaster:

     

    Situation Convention Logic
    I’m having lunch. The food needs more salt and the salt is within arm’s reach of my brother. How can I do???

    Uh… brother of mine, not that I would like to interrupt your meal in an unpleasant way, but please, if you do not mind, would you be so kind as to pass me the salt that is next to you. I hope I am not bothering you too much with my request and I will certainly return the favour when the opportunity arises. Thank you so very much. Kind regards.

    Pass me the salt.

    Same situation + we’re guests.

    same + an extra fun layer of feeling of guilt towards the lady/man of the house, who might think their food is not good enough or salted enough.

    Pass me the salt.

     

       

     To be continued…

    « Logical leftism – when NOT to play leftmostCase study #1 – yello’gic »

  • Commentaires

    1
    Javan
    Vendredi 9 Juin 2017 à 23:10

    There is a very real example of this convention in American high society (mid-1900s) where if you want the salt, you ask the person in front of the salt "How is your food, does it need any salt?", to which the other person should reply "Yes/no thank you.  Would you like some salt?"  Then you can graciously accept the salt without having to ask for it.  yes  That sounds like finesse to me!

      • Mercredi 14 Juin 2017 à 15:24

        Nice way to make it unnecessarily complicated ;)

        Conventions, really…

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :